National Election Committee (NEC) has released the official results of the June 5 commune council election results, showing that more than 7.39 million voters, or 80.32 per cent of those registered, cast ballots in the polls, and that nine of the 17 participating political parties won at least one contested seat.

The NEC said in a June 24 statement that the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) won 9,376 out of 11,622 council seats, in all 1,652 communes of Phnom Penh and the Kingdom's 24 provinces. The Candlelight Party (CP) came second, winning 2,198 seats.

Funcinpec came in third, winning 19 seats, followed by Khmer National United Party (KNUP) at 13, Grassroots Democracy Party (GDP) at six, Cambodian Nation Love Party (CNLP) at five, Cambodian Youth Party (CYP) at three, and Kampucheaniyum Party and Beehive Social Democratic Party at one each.

NEC said that a total of 7,398,427 voters turned out, but that 157,390 ballots were marked invalid.

NEC said that its unit in charge of announcements will publicise these results on June 26 through state media and via the committee’s social media channels.