Minister of Public Works and Transport Sun Chanthol urged the faculty of the Techo Sen Institute of Public Works and Transport (TSIPWT) to train capable students who could contribute to the growth of the Kingdom’s transport infrastructure.

Presiding over the March 13 opening of the institute’s new academic year, Chanthol asked the assembled lecturers to work hard to educate students to their highest potential, saying he hopes that graduates would be able to compete on the international, as well as domestic, market.

“I urge the lecturers to try their best to teach their students. If you have 10 in a class, you must pay close attention to all 10. I will do my best to recruit more lecturers who are capable of imparting the knowledge and skills that the students need,” he said.

He encouraged the students to strive to excel in their studies, suggesting that they set their goals higher than themselves and include their families and wider society.

“There are many large infrastructure projects in the Kingdom, so we will need many more people who are qualified. The Techo Sen Institute of Public Works and Transport is the only educational institution in Cambodia which provides training on roads, bridges, transportation and logistics. We need a generation that knows how to do this work without relying on foreigners,” he said.

Chanthol suggested that the institute establish foreign student exchanges and study tours abroad so more students could learn from the experience of other countries around the region, and the world.

TSIPWT director Hoeun Samneang said the institute is committed to building human resources with clear skills and knowledge.

“Now in our third year, we offer courses in subjects as diverse as road, bridge and port construction, wastewater treatment systems, logistics and supply chain management skills, and even maritime qualifications, including navigation and maritime engineering,” he added.

“At present, we have 14 professors with doctoral degrees and 58 with a Master’s degree, and three subordinate departments – The Department of Administration and Finance, the Department of Training and Vocational Studies, and the Department of Research and Development,” he explained.