The National Election Committee (NEC) has set January 9 as the day of the election of new members of the towns and districts which were established in December.

In a January 6 press statement, it announced that the government recently established Arey Khsat and Sampov Poun towns in Kandal province, Oudong Me Chey town and Samaki Moni Chey district in Kampong Speu and O’Krieng Senchey district in Kratie province.

According to the statement, Kandal’s Arey Ksat town and Sampov Pou district will have 19 council members each.

In Kampong Speu, Oudong Me Chey town will have 17 council members, while Samaki Moni Chey will have 19.

Kratie province’s O’Krieng Senchey district will have 15 council members.