Logo of Phnom Penh Post newspaper Phnom Penh Post - NEC selects members ahead of upcoming commune elections

NEC selects members ahead of upcoming commune elections

Content image - Phnom Penh Post
The National Election Committee headquarters in Tonle Basac commune of the capital’s Chamkarmon district in January. Heng Chivoan

NEC selects members ahead of upcoming commune elections

The National Election Committee (NEC) has selected 175 members of the municipal and provincial electoral commissions to serve in the upcoming commune council elections.

According to a press release issued by the NEC on January 30, the 175 candidates all passed an exam which tested their knowledge of electoral systems.

According to the NEC, the newly appointed positions include the chairperson and deputy chairperson of the commissions, members in charge of administration and members in charge of finances. Commission members who will be responsible for operations, legal services, education and security were also chosen.

The NEC stated that the recruited candidates would begin their duties on February 1, and would serve the election council until June 30.

NEC spokesman Hang Puthea told The Post that the election process is a major nationwide operation and requires additional staff to ensure it runs smoothly.

“This recruitment was carried out in accordance with NEC rules and regulations. Because there are 1652 polling stations nationwide for the commune council elections, we needed to set up the commissions and select more members to carry out the work,” he said.

Puthea said that after forming the municipal and provincial commissions, the NEC would establish commune election sub-commissions, then set up polling stations and counting committees.

These commissions were set up only to prepare and carry out the election. Once the elections finished, these commissions would automatically dissolve, he added.

Neutral and Impartial Committee for Free and Fair Elections (NICFEC) executive director Sam Kuntheamy said he expected the members to fulfil any roles related to the elections in a transparent manner.

“The selection of those members is good and hopefully they work transparently. We will see,” he said.

According to the NEC, during this recruitment, some NEC officials who work at the municipal-provincial election secretariat passed the exam as chairperson or deputy chairperson, which meant some positions in the secretariat were freed.

The 5th mandate commune council election 2022 is scheduled for June 5.


  • Cambodia maintains 'Kun Khmer' stance despite Thailand’s boycott threat

    Cambodia has taken the position that it will use the term "Kun Khmer" to refer to the sport of kickboxing at the upcoming Southeast Asian (SEA) Games, and has removed the term Muay from all references to the sport. Despite strong reactions from the Thai

  • Artificial insemination takes herd from 7 to 700

    Some farms breed local cows or even import bulls from a broad for the purpose of breeding heavier livestock for meat production. One Tbong Khnum farmer has found a more efficient way. Hout Leang employs artificial insemination to fertilise local cows. Thanks to imported “straws”

  • Chinese group tours return to Cambodia starting Feb 6

    Cambodia is among 20 countries selected by Beijing for a pilot programme allowing travel agencies to provide international group tours as well as flight and hotel packages to Chinese citizens, following a three-year ban. As the days tick down until the programme kicks off on February 6,

  • Capital-Poipet express rail project making headway

    The preliminary results of a feasibility study to upgrade the Phnom Penh-Poipet railway into Cambodia’s first express railway indicate that the project would cost more than $4 billion and would take around four years to complete. The study was carried out by China Road and

  • Thai boxers to join SEA Games’ Kun Khmer event

    The Cambodian SEA Games Organising Committee (CAMSOC) – together with the Kun Khmer International Federation (KKIF) and Khmer Boxing Federation – have achieved a “great success” by including Kun Khmer in the upcoming biennial multi-sports event on its home soil for the first time, said a senior

  • Bullets to bracelets: Siem Reap man makes waste from war wearable

    Jewellery is often made from valuable gemstones like emeralds or diamonds and precious metals like gold or silver, or valueless things like animal horns. But a man in Siem Reap has approached the manufacture of delicate pieces from a different angle. His unique form of