Preah Sihanouk province on May 6 unveiled a three-colour-coded system that will determine to what extent coronavirus restrictions are placed on parts of the province.

While travel and most businesses will be allowed in yellow zones, red and orange zones will be under lockdown until May 13, the provincial administration said.

Individuals in red or orange zones must remain in their residences, except for “essential travel”, it said, reminding those in yellow zones to adhere to Ministry of Health guidelines for Covid-19 preparedness. Entertainment and sports activities are banned in all three colour zones.

Villages 1-5 of Sihanoukville's Commune IV have been designated as red zones, while communes I, II, III and Commune IV's Village 6 have been categorised as orange zones. Prey Nop district's Bit Traing commune is listed as a yellow zone.

According to the latest data available, the coastal province had logged 2,023 coronavirus infections, of which 1,166 are active, and six fatalities as of May 4, second only to Phnom Penh.